Shining One gets poked

Tarot weirdness

Something weird is happening. Over the past year several people have described me as shining. You guys know that I am not averse to a little ego expression (well perhaps a lot). But seriously, what’s with this shining one stuff? From real people to communed entities I have to deal with this in-your-face testimony to me shining with energy. One such incident occurred whilst over in the States a few weeks ago.

It was about 1 week prior to the events described in the Going Native adventure. I was passing through a festive Union Square. 14th Street (in Manhattan) when I African lady shouts me over and literally grabs me by the arm and says that she must read my cards. Being a rather astute card reader myself I thanked her for the offer but declined. She insisted so I used my final defense. “I don’t have any money”. She laughed “No, No, for you it is free” she said with the lilt of an African tongue. So, begrudgingly I sat down.

She brought out the grimiest deck of cards that I’ve ever seen. The images were so faded that it was hard to see if they had any image at all. With these she began her reading.

With a quick hand she slapped down one, two, three cards. One on top of the other. She didn’t even look at them. The final card was unrecognizable to me. “You have a message to share”. I shook my head hesitantly and she laughed. “No, no, you can’t hide from me”. I shrugged. Another 3 cards. “You are shining with this message.” Okay, not shining again! I waited for her to continue. Another 3 cards. This time I saw the middle card. It was the Hermit. Your message will shine in the world this year! And you know what? She actually poked me in the chest. “This” poke, “year” poke, “your” poke, “message” poke, “will” poke, “shine” poke. although I think I managed to avoid the final poke.

She picked up her cards and shuffled them up, “I’m done with e” and turned her back on me. What?!? I muttered a thanks to her back and walked away. The world be filled with weird folk!

Kal Malik

2 Responses to “Shining One gets poked”

  • Riverwolf says:

    Way cool–or not? But wow, these sorts of things are interesting when they happen. Hmm, well, wish I could help you answer that question, what does it all mean? Keep shining.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

HD on Twitter
  • New Hedge Druid post: Ancestor Spirit on Primrose Hill http://t.co/2hwVGQ6Ync
    about 1 day ago
  • As expected: being outdoors stops modern illnesses. http://t.co/HDlNMzB7iJ Try my weekly outdoor meditation! http://t.co/NnA2hpe8A6
    about 4 days ago
  • New Hedge Druid post: Three Books That Wanted To Be Found http://t.co/KIL8KYLTz2
    about 4 days ago
Faery Documentary
Well-made documentary about The Faery Folk.
The Book Store
Categories
Archives
  • DruidCast - A Druid Podcast Episode 95
    Shownotes for DruidCast Episode 95 The Hurlers - Seth Lakeman - www.sethlakeman.co.uk The Widow - The Poozies - www.thepoozies.co.uk History of Faerietales - Joanna Coleman - www.joannacoleman.co.uk The Magpie - The Unthanks - www.the-unthanks.com DruidCast theme - Hills they are Hollow - Damh the Bard - www.paganmusic.co.uk Background music for Druid story - Making the Mead - Paul Newman - www.storyfolksinger.co.uk […]
  • DruidCast - A Druid Podcast Episode 94
    Shownotes for DruidCast Episode 94Fire - Shibaten - http://www.shibatenspirits.comInterview with Joanna van der Hoeven - http://joannavanderhoeven.com by Philip Carr-Gomm - http://www.philipcarr-gomm.comDruidry and the Young Adult - Jonathan Woolley - https://twitter.com/aboymadeofskyBoatman - The Levellers - http://www.levellers.co.ukViking Party Polka - Asynje - http://asynje.dkBrighid - Damh the Bard - http://www.paganmusic.co.ukDruidCast theme - Hills they are Hollow - Damh […]
  • DruidCast - A Druid Podcast Episode 93
    Shownotes for DruidCast Episode 93Solstice Bells - Jethro Tull - www.jethrotull.comInterview with Mara Freeman - www.chalicecentre.netWinds of October - Peter Mayer - www.petermayer.netInterview with Penny Billington - www.pennybillington.co.ukInterviewed by Philip Carr-Gomm - www.philipcarr-gomm.comLament of the Sea Queen - Love Street - www.lovestreet.meDruidCast theme - Hills they are Hollow - Damh the Bard - www.paganmusic.co.ukFor further […]
Kindle Subscription
Subscribe to monthly Kindle update